Home » Aikido » Harmony on the Rocks

Harmony on the Rocks


So I went and saw a friend just the other day since I hadn’t seen him in 2 months, even though we live about 5 minutes away from each other.

It’s a rather interesting relationship from my perspective; we met through a mutual friend during the summer of 2008. There was a weekly poker game event at the house that he lived in then that he shared with 3 other guys. During that same time he also encouraged me to look into Christianity.

Well, that was almost two years ago and since then our friendship has been defined by those two things: going to his house for hang-outs and Christianity, two things that I rarely put much thought into anymore. So unfortunately we haven’t been talking too much.

So it was then that it was weird talking to him about my recent position doing community outreach for my dojo. Here I am talking to a friend whom I have minimal contact with – doing my thing: selling Aikido!

Honestly, what I tried to explain to him was a short description of misogi (I was showing him a video of my Sensei doing it during a performance), how Aikido (usually) doesn’t break bones, and information regarding the Institute of  Transpersonal Psychology (ITP, since the video was shot at ITP) – which my dojo has no affiliation with.

All in all, not the best description – which got me thinking: What would be the best selling point for Aikido?

Or better yet, what are some good selling points that people have used for Aikido? Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) is the rage nowadays and as my Sensei put it – it’s what most people are looking at. I’ll personally add that people are using MMA as a filter for judging all other martial arts. Which is sad.

Here’s a tagline that I’ve come up with for selling Aikido:

Aikido is a traditional Japanese martial art that emphasizes
mind-body harmony to deal and respond
appropriately  to situations ranging from
the life threatening to those that occur in everyday life

2 thoughts on “Harmony on the Rocks

  1. I think a great selling point for aikido is that it can be practiced into old age. Granted the falls are de-emphasized, but the concepts of blending and force redirection are just as valid for a 70 year old as they are for a 20 year old.

    MMA can’t boast that! In fact, getting involved with MMA is a decent way of becoming an injured and achy old person.

Leave a Reply

